Site icon TechRechard

How to Edit iMessage Messages in iOS 16

How to Edit iMessage Messages in iOS 16

The iOS 16 update contains several improvements to the Messages app. One of them is the increased ability to edit messages after they are sent. Below we will go into more detail about how it works and its limitations.

You can also read: Apple introduced iOS 16, iPadOS 16 and macOS 13 Ventura

The new features of the Messages app in iOS 16 include the ability to edit messages, retract sent messages, and mark them as unread. Along with these improvements, Apple has also made it possible to drag-and-drop images, videos and contacts right into a message thread.

Below, we’ll illustrate how editing iMessages works on an iPhone with iOS 16.

How to Edit iMessage Messages in iOS 16

Remember, the beta version of iOS 16 is now limited to developers. The public beta version will come out in July.

If you haven’t installed iOS 16 Beta on your iPhone yet, use this guide: How to Download and Install iOS 16: Easy Guide.

  1. On your iPhone with iOS 16, open the iMessage app.
  2. In the chat that you want to edit, find the message you want to edit.
  3. Long-press on the message.
  1. Select the “Edit” option.
  2. After clicking the Edit option, click on any of the text and make your changes.
  1. Make your desired changes to the messages and click on the blue checkmark icon.
  2. After editing the message, you’ll notice that it has been edited: Delivered – Edited.

NOTE: You can edit and delete any messages you send within 15 minutes without unwanted or unintended consequences.

Restrictions

Once you use the unsend messaging feature in iOS 16, the message is still available for the other user to see on older versions.

When you edit a message, there is no notification on older devices. The restriction applies to other functions like sending messages too. If you send a message to someone with iOS15 and receive it first before it’s edited, they will only get the original text.

Another good feature is that you can edit messages within 15 minutes of sending. You can do this several times, so if something goes wrong or you want to edit it, you can do it.

Exit mobile version